



Heidelberg Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Dissertation Prize for Physics und Astronomy

§ 1 Preamble

The Department of Physics and Astronomy offers two prizes per year funded by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation for outstanding dissertations in all areas of physics and astronomy.

§ 2 Intention

The dissertation prizes are intended for the advancement of excellent young scientists whose doctoral exam took place within the last year and whose work stands out as particularly original and independent contributions to research.

§ 3 Sponsors

The sponsors provide two prizes per year amounting to 2.000 € each as well as a 1.000 € allowance for the arrangement of the celebration after the award ceremony.

§ 4 Prize committee

The prize committee consists of the following members of the Department: four professors or associate professors ("Privatdozentinnen bzw. Privatdozenten") as well as one lecturer ("Hochschulassistentin bzw. ein Hochschulassistent") or scientific staff member. The committee is elected by the Extended Faculty Council for a duration of two years. The advisory committee elects one professor among its members as chair.

The prize committee takes its decisions based on the principle of majority vote. It has a quorum if at least half of its members are present.

The prize committee can take decisions by email circulation or meet in telephone conferences and the like.

§ 5 Application and Selection

All researchers who have completed their doctoral studies with the grade "summa cum laude" in the preceding summer and winter semester may apply for the prize themselves.

Furthermore, the first advisors can nominate scientists who have completed their doctoral studies in the preceding summer or winter semester.

Applications include a letter (two pages max.), which is understandable for a general physics community and explains the most important scientific results of the doctoral thesis. Applications received by the Department by August 31st of a year will be considered.

In addition, the prize committee will be granted access to the dissertation and the thesis reports.

A maximum of six junior scientists are selected from the applications. They will present the most important results of their scientific research to the prize committee during a symposium. After the symposium, the prize winner will be elected by the committee.

§ 6 Prize Award

The prizes were awarded for the first time in the fall of 2019. A maximum of two prizes amounting to 2.000 € each are announced. The prize consists of the prize money and a certificate signed by the department chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy. This certificate includes the topic of the doctoral thesis and the names the sponsors. The award ceremony takes place within the "Großes Kolloquium" of the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Representatives of the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation are invited to this event. After the colloquium, the award ceremony takes place.

§ 7 Duration

The Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Dissertation Prize is established for a duration of five years. Before the five years are up, an evaluation of the prize will take place considering its future funding.